Invitation from the 2018 Conference Leadership


On behalf of the STGlobal 2018 Organizing Committee and Consortium Members, we invite you to the 18th annual conference. Held in collaboration with our Mission Partners, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), STGlobal fosters a welcoming environment for students to present research in science and technology studies (STS), science and technology policy (STP), and other related areas.

This year marks an exciting new phase for the STGlobal Organization. Beyond the inclusion of more traditional poster and presentation panels, this year we are excited to incorporate the "making and doing" sessions as well as the display of creative works that address the themes of science, technology, and policy. In addition to presenting research from Graduate Students, STGlobal hopes to expanded the participation of Undergraduate Students as well. We hope that by expanding our membership, STGlobal can build upon its rich legacy of fostering the work of young and emerging scholars in STS and STP. More than anything, we have planned the weekend to encourage dialogue and explore the exciting futures and possibilities of our fields.

This conference would not be possible without the generous support Virginia Tech, Drexel University, George Washington University, Georgetown University, Stevens Institute of Technology, University of Virginia, AAAS and NAS. Finally, we thank the Faculty Advisory Committee, the Student Organizing Committee, and all the volunteers who made this possible.


Ariel Ludwig, Chair                 Maria Douglass, Chair